Rock on Vinyl Online Shop

Search this site:


Collectors information & Description: 

Gatefold (FOC) cover design with artwork / photos on the inside cover pages

"The Blurred Crusade" is the second album by Australian group The Church which was released in March 1982 by EMI / Parlophone. It shows a change of direction from the new-wave leanings of the band's debut. The album peaked at No. 10 on the Australian Kent Music Report Albums Chart and "Almost with You" reached No. 21 on the related Singles Chart.

It was produced and mixed by Bob Clearmountain. While still dominated primarily by Steve Kilbey's song writing, the music shows more of a resurgent 1960s psychedelia and the beginnings of guitarists Peter Koppes' and Marty Willson-Piper's trademark interplay. The album's first single, "Almost with You," is considered one of the group's most characteristic songs. Two band compositions, "An Interlude" and "You Took", have been frequently included in set lists throughout their career. Both the band and a large section of the fan-base cite the album as one of their finest.

Music Genre:  New Wave Rock 
Album  Production information: The album: "THE CHURCH The Blurred Crusade" was produced by: Bob Clearmountain, Chris Gilbey
Record Label:  Carrere ATV Northern Productions 67907  
Record Format: 12" Vinyl Stereo Gramophone Record
Total Album (Cover+Record) weight: 480 gram  
Year & Country  1982 Made in France

High Quality Album Front Cover Photo of "THE CHURCH The Blurred Crusade"

Album Back Cover  Photo of "THE CHURCH The Blurred Crusade"

Inner Sleeve   of "THE CHURCH The Blurred Crusade" Album

Close-up Photo of "THE CHURCH The Blurred Crusade" Record Label 

Note: the above pictures are photos of the actual album and allow you to judge the quality of cover. Slight differences in color may exist due to the use of the camera's flash. The quality of these images has been reduced in order to preserve network bandwidth, high quality images of these scans can be made available on request

Personnel/Band Members and Musicians on: THE CHURCH The Blurred Crusade

    Band-members, Musicians and Performers
  • Steve Kilbey - lead vocals, bass guitar, keyboards, slide guitar
  • Peter Koppes - lead guitar, backing vocals, percussion, tubular bells, piano ( You Took )
  • Richard Ploog - drums, percussion
  • Marty Willson-Piper - electric & acoustic 12 & 6 string guitars, lead vocal ( Field of Mars )

Complete Track-listing of the album "THE CHURCH The Blurred Crusade"

The detailed tracklist of this record "THE CHURCH The Blurred Crusade" is:

    Almost With You (Steve Kilbey)
  1. When You Were Mine (Kilbey)
  2. Field of Mars (Kilbey, Marty Willson-Piper)
  3. An Interlude (Kilbey, Peter Koppes, Willson-Piper, Richard Ploog)
  4. Secret Corners (Kilbey)
  5. Just for You (Kilbey)
  6. A Fire Burns (Kilbey)
  7. To Be in Your Eyes (Kilbey)
  8. You Took (Kilbey, Koppes, Willson-Piper, Ploog)
  9. Don't Look Back (Kilbey)

Album's Condition and Grading Details

Strict grading according to the Goldmine Grading for Vinyl records has been applied, this record has been carefully visually inspected to determine the grading.



NEAR MINT or NM, M- : this record appears virtually flawless A very minor scuff and very little else can appear on the vinyl

Album Cover:

VERY GOOD PLUS or VG+ A virtually clean cover, with light signs of wear around the seams. This album cover has NO seam-splits, ring-wear, cut-outs, or writing on the cover.

Home | Help / Shipping Info | Contact | Vinyl Records BLOG | | Copyright ©2003-2018 Vinyl Records Collectors Guide
Search this site:

Last Modified: 28-Jan-2018 12:24