Heavy Metal Vinyl Records Collectors Guide

Search this site:

Slayer South of Heaven 12" vinyl LP

Collector's info: 


This album includes the original Def Jam Recordings custom inner sleeve with album details, complete lyrics of all songs by Slayer

"South of Heaven" is the fourth studio album by American thrash metal band Slayer. Released on July 5, 1988, the album was the band's second collaboration with record producer Rick Rubin, whose production skills on Slayer's previous album Reign in Blood had helped the band's sound evolve.


"South of Heaven" was Slayer's second album to enter the Billboard 200, and its last to be released by Def Jam Recordings, although the album became an American Recordings album after Rick Rubin ended his partnership with Russell Simmons. It was one of only two Def Jam titles to be distributed by Geffen Records through Warner Bros. Records because of original distributor Columbia Records's refusal to release work by the band. The release peaked at number 57 and in 1992 was awarded a gold certification by the Recording Industry Association of America. In order to offset the pace of the group's previous album, Slayer deliberately slowed down the album's tempo. In contrast to their previous albums, the band utilized undistorted guitars and toned-down vocals. While some critics praised this musical change, others—more accustomed to the style of earlier releases—were disappointed. Despite this, the songs "Mandatory Suicide" and the title track became permanent features of the band's live setlist.

Music Genre:  Speed Thrash Metal Music 
 Album:  Produced by Rick Rubin
 Record Label:  Def Jam Recordings / Geffen Records 924 203 (924203)  
 Record Format 12" LP  
Year & Country  1988 Made in EEC  

Band Members and Musicians on: Slayer South of Heaven

    Slayer's Band-members, Musicians and Performers
  • Tom Araya
  • Jeff Hanneman
  • Kerry King
  • Dave Lombardo

Track Listing of: Slayer South of Heaven

    Side One:
  1. South of Heaven
  2. Silent Scream
  3. Live Undead
  4. Behind the Crooked Cross
  5. Mandator Suicide
    Side Two:
  1. Ghosts of War
  2. Read Between the Lies
  3. Cleanse the Soul
  4. Dissident
  5. Aggressor
  6. Spill the Blood

High Quality Photo of Album Front Cover  "SLAYER South of Heaven"

A0288 Slayer South of Heaven 

Album Back Cover  Photo of "SLAYER South of Heaven"

A0288 Slayer South of Heaven  

Inner Sleeve   of "SLAYER South of Heaven" Album

A0288 Slayer South of Heaven 

Photo of "SLAYER South of Heaven" Album's Inner Sleeve  

A0288 Slayer South of Heaven 

Photo of "SLAYER South of Heaven" 12" LP Record - Side One:

A0288 Slayer South of Heaven  

Photo of "SLAYER South of Heaven" 12" LP Record - Side Two:

A0288 Slayer South of Heaven  

Note: the above pictures are photos of the actual album and allow you to judge the quality of cover. Slight differences in color may exist due to the use of the camera's flash. The quality of these images has been reduced in order to preserve network bandwidth, high quality images of these scans can be made available on request

Home | Help / Shipping Info | Contact | Vinyl Records BLOG | Copyright ©2003-2018 Vinyl Records Collectors Guide

Last Modified: 08-Jan-2018 14:59