Vinyl Records Collectors Guide

Search this site:



180 Grams HQ Vinyl


Collectors information & Description: 

"Volume Two" is the LP by The Soft Machine, first released in 1969. A jazz influence is introduced to the humour, dadaism, and psychedelia of The Soft Machine (1968). The album was inspired by Frank Zappa's Absolutely Free , and consists of two long compositions with "As Long as He Lies Perfectly Still" and "Dedicated to You" serving as interludes. Acting on a recommendation from Zappa, the band split the main tracks into smaller pieces to increase the band's income from the album. According to the lyrics in Have You Ever Bean Green? The Soft Machine thanked The Jimi Hendrix Experience, with whom they toured through the USA in 1968, that they as a beginning band were exposed to large crowds. The title of this song refers to a soulful plaint in the song Are You Experienced?, "Have you ever been experienced?".

Music Genre:  Acid Psych Prog Rock 
Production information:

The album: "SOFT MACHINE - Super Group Vol 2 Rivmic Melodies" was produced by: The Soft Machine

This album was recorded at: February–March 1969 at Olympic Studios, London

Record Label:  Barclay 0921019
Record Format HQ 180 Grams Vinyl 12" Vinyl Stereo Gramophone Record
Total Album (Cover+Record) weight: 230 gram  
Year & Country  1969 Made in France

High Quality Photo of Album Front Cover  "SOFT MACHINE - Super Group Vol 2 Rivmic Melodies"


Album Back Cover  Photo of "SOFT MACHINE - Super Group Vol 2 Rivmic Melodies"


Photo of "SOFT MACHINE - Super Group Vol 2 Rivmic Melodies" 12" LP Record


Close-up Photo of "SOFT MACHINE - Super Group Vol 2 Rivmic Melodies" Record Label 


Note: the above pictures are photos of the actual album and allow you to judge the quality of cover. Slight differences in color may exist due to the use of the camera's flash. The quality of these images has been reduced in order to preserve network bandwidth, high quality images of these scans can be made available on request

Personnel/Band Members and Musicians on: SOFT MACHINE - Super Group Vol 2 Rivmic Melodies

    Band-members, Musicians and Performers
  • Robert Wyatt - drums, lead and backing vocals
  • Mike Ratledge - piano, Lowrey Holiday De Luxe organ, Hammond organ (on 3) harpsichord (on 12), flute (on 3 and 10)[4]
  • Hugh Hopper - bass guitar, acoustic guitar (on 12), alto saxophone (on 3 and 14-16)
  • Brian Hopper - soprano and tenor saxophone

Complete Track-listing of the album "SOFT MACHINE - Super Group Vol 2 Rivmic Melodies"

The detailed tracklist of this record "SOFT MACHINE - Super Group Vol 2 Rivmic Melodies" is:

    Side One: Rivmic Melodies
  1. "Pataphysical Introduction - Pt. I" (Robert Wyatt) - 1:00
  2. "A Concise British Alphabet - Pt. I" (Hugh Hopper, arr. Wyatt) - 0:10
  3. "Hibou, Anemone and Bear" (Mike Ratledge / R. Wyatt) - 5:58
  4. "A Concise British Alphabet - Pt. II" (H. Hopper / R. Wyatt) - 0:12
  5. "Hulloder" (H. Hopper / R. Wyatt) - 0:52
  6. "Dada Was Here" (H. Hopper / R. Wyatt) - 3:25
  7. "Thank You Pierrot Lunaire" (H. Hopper / R. Wyatt) - 0:47
  8. "Have You Ever Bean Green?" (H. Hopper / R. Wyatt) - 1:23
  9. "Pataphysical Introduction - Pt. II" (R. Wyatt) - 0:50
  10. "Out of Tunes" (M. Ratledge / H. Hopper / R. Wyatt) - 2:30
    Side Two: Esther's Nose Jone
  1. "As Long as He Lies Perfectly Still" (M. Ratledge / R. Wyatt) - 2:30
  2. "Dedicated to You But You Weren't Listening" (H. Hopper) - 2:30
  3. Esther's Nose Job - 11:13
    • "Fire Engine Passing with Bells Clanging" (M. Ratledge) - 1:50
    • "Pig" (M. Ratledge) - 2:08
    • "Orange Skin Food" (M. Ratledge) - 1:52
    • "A Door Opens and Closes" (M. Ratledge) - 1:09
    • "10:30 Returns to the Bedroom" (M. Ratledge / H. Hopper / R. Wyatt) - 4:14
Home | Help / Shipping Info | Contact | Vinyl Records BLOG | Copyright ©2003-2017 Vinyl Records Collectors Guide

Last Modified: 18-Nov-2017 16:09