Sexy Vinyl Album Covers Collectors Guide

Search this site:



Flipback album cover


Collectors information & Description: 

Matrix/stamper codes:
Side One: BLY 920082 A GP
Side Two: BLY 920082 B

"The Soft Machine" is the debut album by the British psychedelic rock band "Soft Machine", one of the central bands in the Canterbury scene. The band, founded in 1966, recorded and released this studio album during their 1968 tour of the USA. It was produced by Chas Chandler and Tom Wilson. The song "Joy Of A Toy" is one of the first compositions to feature a bass guitar melody played through a Wah-wah pedal.


Music Genre:  Psych Acid Prog Rock 
Production information:

The album: "SOFT MACHINE - S/T Self-Titled Barclay France" was produced by: Chas Chandler, Tom Wilson

This album was recorded: April 1968 at Record Plant Studios, New York City

Album cover design: Claude Caudron, Byron Goto, Eli Aliman, Henry Epstein

Record Label:  Barclay 0920 082 / Super-Panache T / License Yameta
Record Format 12" LP Vinyl Stereo Gramophone Record
Total Album (Cover+Record) weight: 230 gram  
Year & Country  1968 Made in France

High Quality Photo of Album Front Cover  "SOFT MACHINE - S/T Self-Titled Barclay France"


Album Back Cover  Photo of "SOFT MACHINE - S/T Self-Titled Barclay France"


Photo of "SOFT MACHINE - S/T Self-Titled Barclay France" 12" LP Record


Close-up Photo of "SOFT MACHINE - S/T Self-Titled Barclay France" Record Label 


Note: the above pictures are photos of the actual album and allow you to judge the quality of cover. Slight differences in color may exist due to the use of the camera's flash. The quality of these images has been reduced in order to preserve network bandwidth, high quality images of these scans can be made available on request

Personnel/Band Members and Musicians on: SOFT MACHINE - S/T Self-Titled Barclay France

    Band-members, Musicians and Performers
  • Robert Wyatt - drums, lead vocals
  • Mike Ratledge - Lowrey Holiday De Luxe organ, piano (on 2.7)
  • Kevin Ayers - bass, lead vocals

Complete Track-listing of the album "SOFT MACHINE - S/T Self-Titled Barclay France"

The detailed tracklist of this record "SOFT MACHINE - S/T Self-Titled Barclay France" is:

    Side One:
  1. "Hope for Happiness" (Brian Hopper, arr. Robert Wyatt / Mike Ratledge / Kevin Ayers) - 4:21
  2. "Joy of a Toy" (Ayers / Ratledge) - 2:49
  3. "Hope for Happiness (reprise)" (B. Hopper, arr. Wyatt / Ratledge / Ayers) - 1:38
  4. "Why Am I So Short?" (Hugh Hopper / Wyatt) - 1:39
  5. "So Boot If At All" (Ratlege / Ayers / Wyatt) - 7:25
  6. "A Certain Kind" (H. Hopper) - 4:11
    Side Two:
  1. "Save Yourself" (Wyatt) - 2:26
  2. "Priscilla" (Ayers / Ratledge / Wyatt) - 1:03
  3. "Lullabye Letter" (Ayers) - 4:32
  4. "We Did It Again" (Ayers) - 3:46
  5. "Plus Belle qu'une Poubelle" (Ayers) - 1:03
  6. "Why Are We Sleeping?" (Ayers / Ratledge / Wyatt) - 5:30
  7. "Box 25/4 Lid" (Ratledge / H. Hopper) - 0:49
Home | Help / Shipping Info | Contact | Vinyl Records BLOG | Copyright ©2003-2017 Vinyl Records Collectors Guide

Last Modified: 23-Jul-2017 12:49